Board of Directors

President - Scott Rahimi, MD
Dr. Scott Rahimi graduated Cum Laude from the University of Georgia with a degree in Biochemistry and went on to complete medical school and neurosurgical residency training at the Medical College of Georgia. Following his residency, he pursued a 2-year endovascular and open cerebrovascular fellowship at Emory University. He then returned to Augusta and joined the faculty at MCG. Dr. Rahimi is currently a Professor of Neurosurgery and Neurosurgical Director of the Comprehensive Stroke Center at Augusta University Medical Center. He also serves as the program director for the neuroendovascular fellowship and associate program director of the neurosurgery residency training at Medical College of Georgia. His primary areas of interest include treating patients with cerebrovascular disease and tumors of the central nervous system.

Dr. Rahimi is married to Bric Rahimi who is an OB-GYN. They have three children.

President-Elect - Jay McCracken, MD
Dr. McCracken is a board-certified, fellowship trained Neurosurgical Oncologist who specializes in the surgical treatment of primary and metastatic tumors affecting the brain, pituitary gland and skull-base. He is well-versed in many different surgical approaches including open and minimally invasive craniotomies, endoscopic approaches to the skull base and pituitary gland, and stereotactic radiosurgery with both Gamma Knife and Linear Accelerator based technology. He leads the Piedmont Neurosurgical Oncology Service, is Co-Director of the Piedmont Brain Tumor Center—an MD Anderson Provider Network clinic, and Medical Director of the Stereotactic Radiosurgery Program at Piedmont Atlanta Hospital.

Secretary/Treasurer - Matthew Gary
Matthew Gary, MD, FAANs, is a neurosurgeon who specializes in spine surgery. After graduating from the University of Florida School of Medicine, he completed his residency at Emory University and then went on to complete a fellowship in complex and minimally invasive spine surgery at Miami University. Dr. Gary established the spine deformity care program at Emory University Hospital Midtown and has special research interests in patient outcomes and satisfaction with spine surgery procedures.

Program Chair - Khoi Nguyen
Khoi D. T. Nguyen, MD, is a neurosurgeon who specializes in pediatric neurosurgery and general neurosurgery. His research interests are hydrocephalus and epilepsy surgery. After graduating from the Medical College of Georgia, he completed his residency at Augusta University, and then went on to complete a fellowship at Children's Healthcare of Atlanta.

Immediate Past President – Kevin Ammar, MD
Kevin Ammar is a board certified, fellowship-trained neurosurgeon who specializes in complex spine and minimally invasive spinal procedures. After completion of his undergraduate studies at the University of Virginia, he pursued his medical education at the University of Florida where he was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha medical honor society. He then pursued his neurosurgical residency at the University of Alabama at Birmingham where he served as Chief Resident and met his wife, Kathryn. Following residency, he and Kathryn moved to Los Angeles where he completed a dual neurosurgical / orthopedic fellowship in complex spinal procedures at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. This included training in complex spinal procedures such as spinal deformity and scoliosis, as well as the latest minimally invasive procedures.

His practice is based at the Neurological & Spine Institute’s office in Savannah, Georgia. Dr. Ammar also practices at our satellite office in Statesboro, Georgia.

Director - Area One (term 2) 2021 - 2024 Brian Howard, M.D.
Director - Area One (term 2) 2023-2026 Joshua Wewel, MD
Director - Area Two (term 1) 2021-2024 Igor DeCastro, M.D.
Director - Area Three (term 1) 2023 - 2026 Ryan Lingo, MD

Committee of the State Neurosurgical Societies
William Boydston, MD
Hugh Smisson, MD
Joshua Wewel, MD

Area II Nominating Committee
Neil Woodall, MD