The requirements for eligibility in the various categories of membership are:

Active physicians who are engaged in and whose practice is limited to neurosurgery and who are licensed by the Composite State Board of Medical Examiners to practice medicine in the State of Georgia and who have received formal training that would qualify them for tracking for certification by the American board of Neurological Surgery. Active members shall be entitled to full privileges of this Society. They shall pay annual assessments.

Associate Members shall be individuals who are not neurological surgeons who have shown distinction in research, surgical innovation or teaching in the fields of neurology, neuroanatomy, neurochemistry, neuroendocrinology, neuro­opthamology, neuropathology, neurophysiology, psychiatry, psychology, radiology, or other disciplines related to neurosurgery. No individual shall be elected to Associate Membership unless they have been certified by the board of certification in the field of their primary activity, if such board exists. Associate Members may not vote or hold office, but may serve on Committees. They shall be required to pay dues.